My Thoughts on the Deadpool Trailer

Credit to: The Cosmic Wonder on YouTube; How I wish this happened, it would be funny

I’m not going to be breaking down the trailer or anything like that. If you’re looking for that, then please hop on over to YouTube and watch your favorite person/people. This post is simply to give my thoughts as someone who is NOT actually a Deadpool fan, unlike so much of the world who seems to be. I enjoy his fourth wall breaks sure, but that’s about it. It’s also about the depth of my knowledge on him. The only thing that pops in my head when I hear the name Deadpool is that he somehow can’t be killed? I want to say it’s due to him having a ridiculous healing factor rather than him being traditionally immortal? Someone please correct me in the comments if I’m wrong. I’m not afraid to be wrong.

Anyway, as for the trailer itself, it was…fun. I enjoyed bits of it. Even without knowing much Deadpool/comic book in general lore, I was able to tell when important characters showed up. My favorite part was seeing the TVA again. I MIGHT go see the movie just for that, just to see how it’s functioning (I’m assuming) after the second season finale of the Loki series. While I understand that we’re unlikely to get more than a cameo from Loki, Mobius and/or anyone else from the show, I am curious to see part of the series universe cross over with the movie universe. Despite Disney/Marvel’s recent track record with movies such as The Marvels, Antman and the Wasp Quantum Mania, and Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 3, it’s a toss up of whether the movie itself is going to be good or bad. Only one out of those three was any good, at least in my opinion. If yours differs, please leave it in the comments below.

Back on topic, type ‘Times Where the Trailer was Better Than the Movie’ into Google and chances are, you’ll find more than a few lists. If there are movies listed across multiple lists, then you can be pretty sure (without seeing the movie yourself), that the trailer showed most if not all of the best parts. This was likely done for one of two reasons, either the writer(s)/director(s) knew that the movie sucked but needed a way to draw people in anyway, or it was pretty easy to piece together the plot of the movie from the trailer alone. This was likely because said trailer gave too much away in hopes of hyping up the movie and drawing in people who weren’t normally fans of the movie/series/property, etc…

In this case, without looking at any other reviews/breakdowns, the plot I seemed to get from the Deadpool & Wolverine trailer is that Deadpool might be taking a Loki-esque route and become sort of an anti hero in an effort to reset the MCU (thus giving them more to work with depending on the outcome of this movie). As for Wolverine’s part, he might be someone the TVA enlists when Deadpool inevitably goes rogue and does his own thing. Assuming this, Wolverine could eventually team up with Deadpool for some sort of “greater good” as the movie ends with them saving the day. Then again, many times have I been known to be completely wrong.

In short, what did I think of the Deadpool trailer? It was good…it was fine. It did its job. Despite not being a Deadpool fan, I might go see it just to learn what the TVA is up to (I’m assuming) post Loki season 2 finale. The TVA’s involvement is seriously the only reason I’m interested in this movie. As much as I enjoy good fourth wall breaks, they alone haven’t been enough to draw me in to past Deadpool movies. Assuming I do see it, it will likely either be during the week or even the second weekend it’s out, once I get an idea for if it even is worth seeing, or if everything good was put in the trailer. With Disney/Marvel being Disney/Marvel, it could go either way. Thank you for reading and I hope to see you at my first longer post on March 1st. Please look for it then.

Credit to: Marvel and the Mouse

Leave a comment